ACRL Presents Webcast - Open for Students and Educators: Open Educational Resources Level the Playing Field

Event Details

ACRL Presents Webcast - Open for Students and Educators: Open Educational Resources Level the Playing Field

Time: October 22, 2019 from 1pm to 2pm
Country: 2
Website or Map: https://ala-events.zoom.us/we…
Event Type: webcast
Organized By: Kara Malenfant
Latest Activity: Sep 24

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Join ACRL for a free ACRL Presents webcast to kick-off Open Access Week. The webcast, "Open for Students and Educators: Open Educational Resources Level the Playing Field" will be held Tuesday, October 22, 2019, from 1:00 - 2:00 p.m. Central time (11:00 a.m.- 12:00 p.m. Pacific | 12:00 – 1:00 p.m. Mountain | 1:00 – 2:00 p.m. Central | 2:00 – 3:00 p.m. Eastern).

Open educational resources (OERs) are not usually a hard sell for students. But what about educators? How do they benefit from having access to resources that are licensed openly? And how can we, as librarians, guide faculty in adopting and adapting OERs? This free webcast will cover essential OER questions and topics, including:

  • What does OER mean?
  • How is OER helpful not only to students, but to educators as well?
  • Locating and adapting OER (or how to interpret Creative Commons licensing attached to OERs)

Speaker: Sara Rachel Benson, Copyright Librarian and Assistant Professor in the Scholarly Communication and Publishing Unit at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Free registration is now available. The webcast will be recorded and the archive will be shared after the live event. Contact collis@ala.org with questions.

Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for ACRL Presents Webcast - Open for Students and Educators: Open Educational Resources Level the Playing Field to add comments!

Join Open Access Week

Attending (1)

Organized by:

in partnership with our
Advisory Committee

Twitter Feed

All content subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License unless specified differently by poster.   Created by Nick Shockey.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service